Queer Beauty Queen

A remarkable and groundbreaking event recently took place when former Miss America finalist, Djuan Trent, came out as ‘queer’. Although she wasn’t out during her reign as Miss Kentucky, her choice to come out at all is a first in the pageant’s history. She is the first known beauty pageant contestant to publicly announce being a lesbian.

2011 Miss America Pageant

I don’t always talk about freshly out famous people. Mainly because it’s hard to keep up with all of the newbies due to so many taking that refreshing step of coming out. But this is more than just a celebrity outing, this is a step in history. This breaks the barriers created by stereotypes.

Djuan Trent was crowned Miss Kentucky in 2010 and competed in the 2011 Miss America competition, representing her home state. She recently wrote an entry on her blog, revealing her biggest secret.

“So…back to my initial thought. For months, I have been contemplating how I would write this post, how I would position it, when would be the right time to post it. Should I make it funny? Should I make it mysterious? Should I make it serious? Should I pick a special date to do it? Should I build some kind of anticipation around it? Hmmm…ain’t nobody got time for that. I have written and re-written and deleted and restarted this post more times than I care to share, and after all of that I have finally realized: “There ain’t nothin’ to it, but to do it.” So, here we go folks…

I am queer.”

Trent received a lot of backlash for her declaration, she also received a great deal of support. Her decision to come out started to enter her mind during Kentucky’s legal debate on equal rights for same sex couples.

Other pageant contestants have come out in the past, however Dejuan is the only one who has won her state title and participated in the national competition for Miss America.

I mentioned stereotypes above because when thinking of the ideal Miss America, one typically imagines a stunningly beautiful, feminine, glammed up, smiley, barbie doll type of woman. Not exactly the stereotypical ideals of a lesbian. Dyke Barbie? Not so much. But the truth is lesbians do not fit into such rigid parameters. We come in all shapes, sizes, dipsticks, and lipsticks. And evidently beauty pageants as well. Now, I don’t know much about beauty pageants, and I’m sure many of you think unfavorably of them, due to the patriarchal standards backing the pageant industry. But that is another topic for another time. I am now looking at equal opportunity institutions and giving these women the strength to be their very best. For my own lack of knowledge, I will assume these competitions offer that to the wonderful women who partake.

Frankly, I’m proud that Djuan Trent was comfortable enough to come out after being the center of such a feminine arena.  I remember living in the closet when I worked at an all female salon, terrified of the straight women viewing me as perverse or being afraid of me. It seems silly now, but that was a different time, and stereotypes often lead to prejudice so, I played it safe.

I think we can all learn something from Djuan Trent. She is a strong, brave woman, who had the courage to be her true self and share that with the world. I hope more girls can see her as a role model, as Miss Kentucky and as a queer woman.

About dykestarr

I am a dedicated writer with a strong focus on relating to others, expressing my crazy mind, and keeping it real. I currently administer two blogs. www.dykefruit.wordpress.com www.nectarmadness.com

Posted on 03/11/2014, in Lesbianism 101 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

The Little Butch That Could

Soft Butch in a New Country

Cyclerina

Musings on Feminism, Queerness and Rurality

Eve & Eve

Eve & Eve is a social space where Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered women can expect to meet other women who can offer support and fun.Join Now ~ www.evematch.com/registration

The Outskirts

Served by your Hostess from the LGBT side of the table

Dear Butch, ... Love, Femme

a little sound advice from one side of the spectrum to the other

Lizbian

Author of historic novel 'Journey to the Other Side' and pet photographer. Please note any views in this blog are my own, and not formed from any formal medical training.

The Lyrical Lesbian

What say you?

musingsofafemme

A semi-closeted college girl just trying to figure things out

Dykehype

Less emo than i look... promise.

